RSS

Jakob died yesterday

10 Dec

Jakob had been back in the hospital for a couple weeks following another collapse, but he had been doing better and there was hope that he could move to a nursing home. So, I wasn’t prepared when I got a Facebook message from his sister yesterday. She told me that he had gotten much worse, unable to eat, speak, or recognize people. The hospital gave him morphine for pain and called her, saying they thought the end was near. He died in his sleep before she could get there.

I’ve been anticipating this day for the past year, since he was diagnosed with stage IV stomach cancer that had already metastasized to his brain, and I’m glad he’s at peace. That didn’t stop me from curling in a ball and wailing as my husband hugged me in silent comfort. I said a few words to his sister in broken German and I’ll write her a proper condolence note today. Poor woman… she is overwhelmed and dreads the tasks of burying her brother and cleaning out his home. I feel terrible that I just mailed Christmas cards to her house for her and for him.

Me? I’m blogging because I am too heartbroken to go to sleep. This is my eulogy for him.

Talking at Armenelos

Today, December 10th — as it’s just past midnight — is the 3rd anniversary of the day I met Jakob Aulder in Second Life and we were inseparable from that first encounter. He was a difficult man to get to know. His profile warned off questions about Real Life and for the first year whenever I asked one, he’d reply with, “Does it matter?” When I said, “No, but I’m curious,” he would insist that he wasn’t interesting to talk about, because he already knew about himself. Stubborn, that one.

Jakob never learned how to use most features of the SL viewer, he hated exploring unless I scouted places first and teleported him, and he had only two outfits in SL: a pirate costume and swim trunks. He loathed dress codes and thought they were ludicrous in a virtual world. So, every day, he was my pirate. I’d dress as a wench or captain now and then to make him laugh. No matter how often I changed clothes or switched between avatars, he was constant.

GSI - browsing

He was bull-headed and grumpy, but he was unconditionally loving, too. He helped me through some difficult times with his simple, no-nonsense coaching. We both altered our sleep schedules so we could chat twice a day, every day: on his lunch break and before he went to bed. We watched Formula 1 races together, sitting on a couch in SL while each watching television in our RL homes. He directed me through German exercises via Skype and I read him a couple of German books, chapter by chapter, in recorded MP3s. Though he was already very ill when we spent two weeks together in Bavaria this spring, and the visit was terribly hard, I’m grateful we got to have it.

Quiet morning

We joked about his awful taste in music, but he was an ardent supporter of a few talented independent female artists. He was mad about Vienna Teng and Rachel Sage, trying to see them perform whenever they appeared within driving distance of his home in Germany. He liked when I sang for him.

The man behind the avatar was 64 years old, but the nearly two decades between our ages rarely felt like a gap. He was an artist, a pacifist, and an atheist who appreciated Buddhist philosophy, though he will be buried in a Christian cemetery near his father. His last RL partner passed away a few years ago and he is survived by no children.

Armenelos ocean view

Jakob had a standard SL account, so I suppose it will sit there until the Lindens archive it for inactivity. How long does that take nowadays? A year or more? I suppose his sister will archive his Facebook account but I’m sure he didn’t leave her his SL login. So he will remain, offline in my Friends list, until the Lindens take him away forever. I’m sure I’ll cry again then, too.

Sweet dreams, Jakob. May you be in a place with great wine and Asian food, cheesy music, and a TV channel with round-the-clock soccer and auto racing. I hope you knew you were loved until the end, no matter what. Om shanti, shanti, shanti.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2015 in Relationships

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Jakob died yesterday

  1. Wurfi

    December 10, 2015 at 2:10 am

    My sincere condolences.

     
    • Kay

      December 10, 2015 at 8:21 am

      Thank you, Wurfi.

       
  2. Kat Feldragonne

    December 10, 2015 at 11:54 am

    My condolences on your loss.

     
    • Kay

      December 10, 2015 at 1:48 pm

      Thank you, Kat.

       
  3. zzpearlbottom

    December 10, 2015 at 12:17 pm

    Our deepest condolences.
    ZZ & Saphy

     
    • Kay

      December 10, 2015 at 1:48 pm

      Thank you both very much.

       
  4. zzpearlbottom

    December 10, 2015 at 12:17 pm

    Reblogged this on ZZ Bottom misadventures in Virtual Worlds! and commented:
    Sometimes we feel so sad.

     
  5. Thea Dreem

    December 10, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    The day has come. I’m sorry it’s so hard. My thoughts are with you.

     
    • Kay

      December 10, 2015 at 7:55 pm

      Thank you, Thea.

       
  6. calliemochaCallie Mocha

    December 11, 2015 at 4:05 pm

    Sending healing prayers and comforting hugs. I am so sorry for your loss.

     
    • Kay

      December 11, 2015 at 4:08 pm

      Thank you, Callie. That’s very kind.

       

Leave a Reply

 
