RSS

A few short thoughts

08 Jul

I thought that the solitude forced upon me by a broken leg might be a great opportunity to write. How wrong I was! I don’t know if it’s constant exhaustion fogging up the sharper edges of my intellect, but I have a pile of half-finished, unpublished posts. I’ll spare you those until I can refine the thoughts.

There are two TV series airing now that would seem to be my bailiwick: Mr. Robot on USA Network and HUMANS on AMC. Basic themes: hacker vigilantism, androids that feel (and human interaction with lifelike bots). I’ve read glowing reviews of Mr. Robot, but we watched part of the 2nd episode and thought it was terrible. The acting, the characterizations, the script, everything. Am I missing something? On the other hand, HUMANS is intriguing so far. It makes my husband and I wish we had a Synth to help around the house, especially while I’m partly out of commission.

Tomorrow I visit my surgeon to remove the staples from my leg, x-ray it, and see how my healing is progressing. Of course I hope to hear, “My god! I’ve never seen someone heal this quickly. Kay, forget staying off that leg for three months. You can walk now. Hell, do a jig if you want! You’re practically the female Wolverine, with that healing speed!” What I expect to hear is, “Looks good. No weight on that leg until September.” I’m surprisingly upset by the immobility and restrictions of this surgery. I usually stay home alone, contentedly, all week, but knowing that it is impossible for me to leave the house without assistance makes it feel like a prison. I find it ironic that a relatively common injury like a broken leg is more debilitating than cancer or a hip replacement were for me. I’m sure it will be better when my leg is healed enough for me to sleep and sit upright more comfortably. It’s certainly strange to have Jakob sending me sympathetic emails and worrying about my health, and I remind myself frequently that my condition is temporary and before I know it, I’ll be ok again.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
