RSS

Becoming a cyborg is awfully slow and painful

19 Jun

At least, it is if you do it my way: having severe injuries that must be repaired with metal, a tiny bit at a time. I haven’t gotten a single servo or a power pack yet!  Such a failure.

I’m in the hospital, you see.  On Monday I broke both my tibia and fibula, just below the knee. Now there’s a metal plate reinforcing my tibial plateau and it’ll be 2-3 months before I can put any weight on that leg. I should have some badass scars, but the function of the knee itself may always be impaired.  I’ve got another day in the hospital and then I’ll go to a rehabilitation center until I’m well enough to take care of myself. Like Segues and old school Daleks, stairs are my nemesis, and my house has many of them.

I’ll get back on track with my blog when I can. I only have my smartphone with me and I’m not sure rehab will have wifi.  See you soon, I hope.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2015 in Health - Mental & Physical

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Becoming a cyborg is awfully slow and painful

  1. girlforgetful

    June 19, 2015 at 10:02 am

    Oy vay! What the heck happened? Sorry to hear this. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

     
    • Kay

      June 19, 2015 at 10:04 am

      I’d like to say that I broke my leg in an epic battle involving zombie ninjas… but I just slipped on some wet leaves on the sidewalk. Sigh!

       
  2. Ever Afterr

    June 19, 2015 at 11:20 am

    Oh gosh, hope you have a swift recovery, Kay!!

     
  3. jennspoint

    June 30, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    Yikes! I’m so sorry. Hope you heal completely and speedily.

     
    • Kay

      June 30, 2015 at 1:53 pm

      Thank you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
