RSS

VWBPE interrupted: an apology

20 Mar

So, tonight I made a complete ass of myself in a VWBPE session. I owe a huge apology to the presenters of “Content Curation Through Virtual World Communities”, particularly Beth Ghostraven/O’Connell, and to the attendees. I’m so sorry. I turned away from my keyboard when my husband came in, turned back to see what was happening, apparently hit the wrong button…. and then went along my merry way, chatting with him about an event later that night… unaware that my mic was open and I was broadcasting it all to everyone in the session.  UGH.  A few minutes later I looked down and saw lots of chat notices trying to let me know.  One of the great people from Idahonia was kind enough to eject me from the parcel.

I sent apologies to everyone who tried desperately to get my attention so I would turn off my mic, and thank you all for being so polite and friendly. I know, it happens; I warned a couple people about their mics earlier today, but it aches to have it happen to me. Blame it on being upset and tired and distracted or just being clumsy, but it was a dumb thing to do. I think we were mostly talking about the Quill & Quarrel performance later tonight, so at least I don’t think I was being really awful, but still….

Take one woman with serious shyness, add public humiliation, and, well, I’ll be hiding in the closet under a pile of old jeans for the next year or two. Seriously. I’m done for the night.  I’ll do a write-up about more of the conference tomorrow.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2015 in Side Topics

 

Tags:

3 responses to “VWBPE interrupted: an apology

  1. girlforgetful

    March 20, 2015 at 8:24 pm

    Awwww that’s too bad, but quickly forgotten, I’m sure.

     
  2. Joyce Bettencourt (@RhiannonSL)

    March 20, 2015 at 11:58 pm

    That is ok. It happens to the best of us, and we soldiered on after to finish up the panel. 🙂 Interested to hear your thoughts on what you did catch of our Content Curation panel. – Rhiannon

     
    • Kay

      March 21, 2015 at 7:17 am

      Thank you for your kind words. I’ll be writing about that later today. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
