RSS

Digital anthro writing, data privacy, and One Billion Rising: it’s a round-up!

12 Feb

Digital Anthropology Bibliography – Interested in reading more academic pieces on humanity and technology? The Digital Anthropology Group has a list of related books and articles that can point you in the right direction. It’s a growing list and I’ve read about ten items on it, so it’s my new “to do” list as well.

Privacy and Surveillance — The Electronic Freedom Foundation has a good page of Surveillance Self-Defense tools and tips.  This is critical information for journalists and people living under repressive regimes, but I think there’s something useful there for anyone who uses digital products.

One Billion Rising in Second Life – The event opens at Friday midnight SLT; stop by anytime on Saturday! I’ll be there for a couple hours tomorrow that morning*. If you want more information or need a map and event listing for the art, music, poetry and other performances, I set up an OBR information kiosk at my closed and perpetually under construction gallery: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Blanda/223/123/112.  Please note that the OBR region has a General maturity rating. Even though BDSM practice can serve a therapeutic role for some people, we ask that collars or other signifying gear be hidden or removed because they could serve as a reminder of violence for others.

Personal Update – This week Jakob had a port installed in his chest for an upcoming round of chemotherapy. I think he’s handling things better than I am right now; I’m a little frayed at the edges. One day at a time….

*I spent all morning knowing it was Thursday, yet thinking that tomorrow was Saturday. It’s been a strange couple of weeks.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2015 in Privacy and Security, Research, Side Topics

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Digital anthro writing, data privacy, and One Billion Rising: it’s a round-up!

  1. girlforgetful

    February 12, 2015 at 11:06 am

    I will be volunteering at OBR on Saturday morning 🙂 You sound much more prepared than I am, though. I hope for the best for Jakob, and that you both see better days ahead.

     
    • Kay

      February 12, 2015 at 11:11 am

      Thank you. 🙂 I’m not so sure about being prepared. The shy part of me is already feeling anxious so I’ll be sure to re-read the training info and study the map and things later today. Hope you have fun volunteering and that we get a good turn-out. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
