RSS

A VR interface design manifesto

25 Jan

I just finished watching this video from Mike Alger and I had to share.  He hits many points that I agree with, based on a background both in tech and anthropology, and at the end of the video he looks at his own bias, assumptions,and reasons behind his interest in this field. Good stuff. Applications that base interaction on things we do naturally and intuitively will have faster mainstream adoption than those that require us to learn new paradigms, and VR is another space to get that right or get it terribly wrong.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2015 in Side Topics, Video

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “A VR interface design manifesto

  1. Becky

    January 25, 2015 at 2:36 pm

    It’d be interesting to evaluate Second Life against his points. Many have cited the viewer’s UI as one of the reasons it’s not been adopted by more consumers. I’m certain the UI is not the only reason holding many of us from consistently enjoying virtual worlds, but it’s most certainly an important aspect. Maybe LL is considering this with their next virtual world? One would only hope that they’d not let past assumptions dictate future progress.

     
    • Kay

      January 25, 2015 at 4:25 pm

      I think the SL viewer UI (and even the UI for 3rd party viewers) is verging on criminal. It’s almost like a psychological test filter out all but the most stubborn, curious, or bored users… not exactly a great business proposition.

      It’s always interesting to watch my friends use SL for the first time. I’ve watched lifelong gamers screaming in rage after half an hour. They’re so frustrated by the time they figure out the basics that they’re even angrier when facing the inevitable “what do I do now?”. It’s even harder for people whose eyes glaze over when they see too many settings and controls. The menus are redundant and complicated. Heck – I’ve been in SL for 9 years and had a couple days of fury last week when I couldn’t figure out how I had screwed up my camera.

      To be fair to LL and other developers, it’s very hard to create a viewer to accommodate all users, from casual social through builders, educators, performers, and scripters, especially in a world where the conditions may differ extremely from one sim to another. LL tried to make a simpler viewer but it was just awful (imho). Next time around, I’m hoping they look at successful controls and settings in games and apps.

      I’ve been pondering a componetized viewer with saveable settings, based on my purses, of all things. Most of the time I just wear a small cross-body bag – light and easy and keeps my hands free. Sometimes I carry a large messenger bag because I have to haul a lot with me. So – social only? Here’s your basic viewer. Need build tools? Snap on this menu. Want advanced photo settings? Here, snap in this menu and these tools. An user could have all the frakking menus he wants, but if he was just going to be exploring and chatting for a while, he could switch to his saved Social setting and all of the other nonsense would be hidden — not even lingering in menu bars and buttons around the periphery of the screen.

       

Leave a Reply

 
