RSS

Blending physical and holographic worlds with the MS HoloLens

21 Jan

I can’t help it; I’m a complete fangirl about some speculative technologies that could revolutionize the way we interact online and in the real world in the next 5-10 years. Even though Microsoft has broken my heart many times before, the promo video for the HoloLens has me bouncing in my desk chair with excitement.

 

See what I mean? TechCrunch has more information and another video.  Of course I’m skeptical for all the basic reasons: another headset with a camera, pricing and battery life concerns, realistic applications beyond design.  But it’s still awfully damn cool to realize we live at a time where things like this are possible.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2015 in Digital Devices, In the News

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Blending physical and holographic worlds with the MS HoloLens

  1. girlforgetful

    January 22, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    Pretty exciting. I want Hololens contacts though. Now wouldn’t that be something?

     
  2. Becky

    January 23, 2015 at 4:16 pm

    That’s ossum-possum – the mind just boggles at the possibilities of this. Imaging inviting chat salon attendees into our homes instead of meeting at the chapel? 😉

     
    • Kay

      January 23, 2015 at 4:23 pm

      I’m loving even the “little” ideas, like having a movie screen anywhere I want one. So many thoughts!

       
      • Becky

        January 23, 2015 at 4:27 pm

        Same. I was thinking as I watched… goodbye TV manufacturing industry, goodbye desktop computers, goodbye laptops (!) This technology is so disruptive to what we take for granted, it’s mind bending.

         

Leave a Reply

 
