RSS

A walk in the woods in any weather

24 Nov

Snapshot_1159

If you’ve read more than a few posts of mine, you know that I scoff at the nouveau Luddites telling people to put down their phones, limit screen time, or join the “real world”. Here is another reason why.

Lately I’ve needed some time with my thoughts, but the weather in my part of the physical world has ranged from a balmy crummy down to an absolute crappy. Any time I want it, however, I can stroll along a beach. I can climb a mountain or swim in a shimmering lake. I can watch the clouds from a tree fort and listen to bird song. If I want to be alone with a reasonable simulation of nature, I can do it at my keyboard.

I’m not saying that the virtual can replace the physical; it is only because I have similar experiences in my sense memory that the virtual strolling can soothe me so well. It is a supplement and an extension. It reminds me of places I’ve been. It takes me places I will never go.

Because some designers, builders, and artists in SL are so clever, walking through the woods can give me some of the same spirit-lifting surprises and delights I find offline. I’ll turn a corner and find squirrels scampering through the leaves. A cliff will offer me a soft cushion on which to meditate. Though I usually travel alone and in silence, sometimes another resident will add a quirky experience. A few minutes after resting on the hammock in the photo above, I was playing on a tire swing in the forest and a wolf came up to chat.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2014 in Art in SL, Health - Mental & Physical

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “A walk in the woods in any weather

  1. girlforgetful

    November 27, 2014 at 9:54 am

    I finally went there, and I’ve spent some time wandering and playing with the look of my avatar. It’s been fun, but I’m still not satisfied yet with the experiences offered. I don’t know if it’s because my computer is insufficient (the sims load slowly and sometimes there’s a lag in response time) but it’s still impressive. My loner tendencies carry over, though; I get a little annoyed when ‘boys’ attempt to flirt, or when I’m probably doing something that would be considered wrong in the world and someone ‘whispers’ at me to not do that (That horse was just sitting there, so I sat on it. So what?). I’d like to have a home, but am not interested in making or spending money there (yay Freebie Island!). The world is big; I’ve seen a fraction of it. It’s nice to get lost in there sometimes. Thanks for sharing your experiences, they encouraged me to try it out. I’m looking forward to seeing it get better as these things will do and exploring more of what it has to offer further.

     
    • Kay

      November 29, 2014 at 6:45 pm

      Thanks for sharing your experiences. 🙂 I’m such a loner and I can relate to being annoyed by random flirtations or chastisements when I breech some unknown convention! You might get better performance by tweaking your graphics preferences downward, but of course that changes how pretty some things can be. I think I appreciate SL more because I’ve been there so long and watched it develop, so I don’t reflect as critically on places with awful graphics or halting animations. It’s interesting to hear from people with a fresher point of view.

       
      • girlforgetful

        November 30, 2014 at 2:24 pm

        Something I’ve experienced (after too many hours) is that when I leave SecondLife I feel like my head is swimming a little as I look at regular websites – it’s disconcerting that the view doesn’t pan and tilt the way it does in world. It’s like stepping off of a Tilt-A-Whirl and trying to stand on solid ground.

         

Leave a Reply

 
