RSS

Random roundup for Monday

17 Nov

I’m fighting a cold today. Blah! Dayquil isn’t helping with deep thoughts, so I’ll offer a trio of shallow ones:

  • Earlier this month, WIRED had an essay about wearables that could have come straight from my brain: Wearables Are Totally Failing the People Who Need Them Most. The author points out that developers are going after the fitness market or trendy applications rather than creating products for people with chronic illnesses who need tracking and reminder methods. I mentioned a couple ideas related to that here.
  • On my Christmas wish list is the book Hacker, Hoaxer, Whistleblower, Spy: The Many Faces of Anonymous by Gabriella Coleman. Coleman is an anthropologist who began studying Anonymous in 2008. I’ve read reviews on Slate and The Nation and I’m curious about her methodology and her perspective. Whenever I browse through 4chan or read about actions of some Anons, I find my anthropologist cap slipping into place as I try to see both the details and the bigger picture. I’m hoping her book is well done, thoughtful, and balanced.
  • My husband spotted a Linden in the wild over the weekend. For people unacquainted with Second Life, this means that an employee of the company that runs SL was spotted in-world. Other people I know report seeing them more often, but neither of us have stumbled across a Linden online — outside of a meeting/conference or taking care of a service ticket for me — in over 8 years. It was strangely exciting. Photos were taken.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 17, 2014 in Side Topics

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
